It was awards galore for the BOE

| 28 Sep 2011 | 02:49

    WEST MILFORD-The board of education held the 2004-2005 Recognitions ceremony during the June 14 meeting. Twenty-nine district employees retired either during the year or at the end. They were publicly thanked for their service, which ranged from 10 years to 39 years. The board also congratulated the West Milford Teacher of the Year (see page 3), and a Teacher of the Year from each school. They were Grace Mouravieff (Apshawa); Ruth Brock-O'Brien (Maple Road); Alice Suska (Marshall Hill Road); Martha Michaund (Paradise Knoll); Stacey Conklin (Upper Greenwood Lake School); Elaine Schwarze (Westbrook); and Leslie Finke (Macopin). Students were recognized for achievements both in and out of school. Representitives from the Lions, Elks and American Legion were on hand to recognize students who had won a variety of local, county and state-wide contests. Dan Gould, Nick Padovani and Leigh Ann Stein were congratulated for winning first prize in the High School Division of the Passaic County Film Festival Contest. Robert Barrett won the Rensselear Scholarship Award. The New Jersey Edward J. Bloustein Distinguished Scholars Award was given to: Matthew Bailey, Mark Baldisserotto, Kathryn Barry, Matthew Bernal, Cybthia Cubelo, William Denheyer, Joseph Hannan, Alison Heerema, Kateleigh Hewins, Amy Koppe, Beth Ann Lungaro, Steve Mariani, Kevin McCoy, Kevin O'Neill, Eugene Reda, Carissa Stark, Michael Stromberg and Maura Tappen. The board also recognized ROGATE/SAT Achievement Award winners Matt Conlon, Rebecca Gangi, Kelly Goldhammer, Steven Heerema, Megan Heise, Brian Jarmakowicz, Ariana Kattowski, Micheal Lichtenberg, Molly Schaefer, Matthew Serven, Brent Stuble, Kyle Terramoccia and Sean Wilson.