Members honored at marching band banquet

| 28 Sep 2011 | 02:13

    WEST MILFORD-Various members of the West Milford Highlander Marching Band received scholarships that were awarded at the annual band banquet on June 2. The band banquet was the culmination of another award winning year for the Highlanders. Students, staff, and parents come together each year to pay tribute to the many talented individuals in this special group. The event was sponsored by the West Milford Band Parents Association, the West Milford Highlander band director, Peter Bauer, and John Calabrese, head of the percussion section. After another successful autumn marching season the Highlanders, under the direction of Peter Bauer, split off into various performing ensembles which include jazz, indoor percussion, indoor guard, and concert band. The Highlanders hosted the NJSMA/NBA Concert Band Festival this year and performed an annual spring concert. Bauer, who is a member of the Hanover Wind Symphony, arranged for the Highlanders to perform a joint concert with the Hanover Winds, this spring. The Highlander Wind Ensemble students were given the opportunity to actually perform with the Hanover symphony. John Calabrese and his Indoor Percussion Competition Group successfully competed in the tri-state area this winter and spring. The Indoor Guard, under the Direction of Ms. Mirablelli, was busy competing as well. The Highlander Band was invited back this year to the St. Patrick's Day Parade in Manhattan and earned a second place finish and was named Best Visiting High School Ensemble Band. Scholarships awarded to Seniors by the West Milford Band Parents Association: Keith B. Cassidy Cathy Jaworski Lance Marxen Rebecca McNamara Kevin Milnes Joe Russo Jen Sadosky Laura Sodon Bill Veres Frank Phillips Scholarship to: Senior Patrick Davis West Milford Township High School Band Members who auditioned and qualified for the following New Jersey Area, Region, and State bands in 2003-2004: North Jersey Area Symphonic Band Corey Emmons Tracey Alperstein North Jersey Area Wind Ensemble Jon Russo Dan Adams The College of New Jersey Honors Band Steven Fit Christina Seaman Alyssa Pry Courtney Weiss Daniel Adams Rutgers University Honors Band Pete Harney Courtney Weiss Dan Adams USSBA Honors Band Dan Adams The following are awards given to Highlander Band and Color Guard students by their peers on the West Milford Highlander Band Council (students who are elected and selected to run the day-to-day business of the marching band and color guard and to assist Bauer and the staff) Outstanding Guard Member Sam Rennalls Cathy Jaworski Tom Stelling Most Improved Freshman Jon Lenhardt Best Marcher Jamie Harr Spirit Award Melissa Turek Best Section Award Flutes Band Scholars Based upon grades for 2003-2004 school year up to and including the third marking period. Honor Roll 3 Marking Periods: Brenna Gumbinger Brian Heacook Michelle Kachler Jon Lenhardt Matt Lutz Drew Nardiello Nichole Wilson Felicity Isgro Lauren Kiel Ryan Leichtweisz Casey Murphy Alyssa Pry Melissa Quinonoes Sarah Stinneford Tracey Alperstein Jenna Autore Michael Brennan Alyssa Douma Kateleigh Hewins Kim Wilson Cathy Jaworski Jessica Leichtweisz Rebecca Mcnamara Kevin Milnes Jennifer Sadosky Laura Sodon High Honor Roll 1 Or 2 Marking Periods Brian Heacook Alyssa Pry Ryan Leichtweisz Tracey Alperstein Cathy Jaworski High Honor Roll 3 Marking Periods Jon Lenhardt Band Scholar Of The Year Jon Lenhardt Awards Given Out To Students By Peter Bauer, Highlander Band Director: Director's Awards Steven Fit Frank Calabro Deirdre Bough Kelly Hughes National Arion Award Junior Arion: Tracey Alperstein Senior Arion: Lindsay Tuman Pipe Major Award Rebecca Mcnamara Drum Major Awards Elizabeth Markson, Patrick Davis, Kevin Milnes Band President Award Jennifer Sadosky National Band Association Outstanding Band Musician Award Valerie Acquaviva Corey Emmons Lauren Calderon Kevin Milnes Patrick S. Gilmore Band Award Daniel Adams John Philip Sousa Award Patrick Davis Outstanding Senior Shannon Heger Awards And Scholarship For The Percussion Section Given Out By John Calabrese: Exceptional Service Award 2000-2004 Christopher Mcgreevy, Ryan Tosto, Kevin Milnes, Lance Marxen, And Jeremy Curcio. Spirit Award 2000-2004 Christopher Mcgreevy Most Improved Freshmen Percussionist Susan Wright Most Improved New Percussionist Ryan Kenny. Most Improved & Spirited Percussionist Fran Calabro Percussionist Scholarship Jonathan Russo. Drum Sergeant Award Lance Marxen